50+ Senators Championship Team Photo

Senators Win 50+ Title

For the second year in a row the #2 seed knocked off the #1 seed in the 50+ Central North Carolina MSBL. Last year it was the Giants shocking the Fayetteville Mets in the final game of a two out of three championship. This year it was the Giants being knocked off by the #2 seeded Senators of Holly Springs. The Alamance Giants, managed by Bob Patterson, had led the league from the first day and looked to be unstoppable. Patterson and the Giants only lost two games all summer but the Senators were able to accomplish the feat twice in one day to sweep the championship series.

Mark Simpson pitched a complete game in the opening contest of the championship series. Simpson was able to spread nine hits over the nine innings with nine strikeouts and only two walks.  The Senators won 9-5. Dave Blaha of the Senators led offensively with four hits followed by John Mawyin with three. The Giants were led offensively by Jerry Russell who managed four base hits. Russell was followed by Pate with two base hits.

Continue reading “Senators Win 50+ Title”