Category: Game Results

Sanford Marlins Win 40+ Championship Series

Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

The #1 seed 40+ Sanford Marlins knocked off the #2 seed 40+ Alamance Giants in the 40+ Central North Carolina MSBL Championship Game.

In the game, Doug Barefoot pitched six strong innings giving up only three runs on seven hits to earn the win for the Marlins.  Dan Thomsonrelieved Doug in the seventh and held the Giants scoreless for the rest of the game. The Marlins won 6-3, behind strong offensive efforts from Wayne Williamson (2 for 4), Skillz McFadden (2 for 4) and Darron Healey(2 for 4).

Continue reading “Sanford Marlins Win 40+ Championship Series”

Kakalacks Make it Eight Titles in 11 Years

Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

After working through the aftermath of Hurricane Florence, fortunately, the field slated for the championship was playable in spite of being flooded out at the beginning of the week. After winning the 2nd semi-final in the first game of the day, which had not been played due to weather, the K-Zone Brewers took on the Carolina Kakalacks in the 18+ Championship.

The Kakalacks got the scoring early, with two runs in the first inning off two hits, then went on to score runs in the third and fourth innings, adding on three more runs in the fifth which proved to be enough to win the game, 7-3. Top hitters for the Kaks included Paul Regan, who went 2-4 with a double, 2 runs scored, and an RBI. Player/Manager Adrian Matlockwas the difference, going 2-4 with a double, a triple, and three RBIs.

Continue reading “Kakalacks Make it Eight Titles in 11 Years”
50+ Senators Championship Team Photo

Senators Win 50+ Title

Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

For the second year in a row the #2 seed knocked off the #1 seed in the 50+ Central North Carolina MSBL. Last year it was the Giants shocking the Fayetteville Mets in the final game of a two out of three championship. This year it was the Giants being knocked off by the #2 seeded Senators of Holly Springs. The Alamance Giants, managed by Bob Patterson, had led the league from the first day and looked to be unstoppable. Patterson and the Giants only lost two games all summer but the Senators were able to accomplish the feat twice in one day to sweep the championship series.

Mark Simpson pitched a complete game in the opening contest of the championship series. Simpson was able to spread nine hits over the nine innings with nine strikeouts and only two walks.  The Senators won 9-5. Dave Blaha of the Senators led offensively with four hits followed by John Mawyin with three. The Giants were led offensively by Jerry Russell who managed four base hits. Russell was followed by Pate with two base hits.

Continue reading “Senators Win 50+ Title”