50+ Senators Championship Team Photo

Senators Win 50+ Title

Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

For the second year in a row the #2 seed knocked off the #1 seed in the 50+ Central North Carolina MSBL. Last year it was the Giants shocking the Fayetteville Mets in the final game of a two out of three championship. This year it was the Giants being knocked off by the #2 seeded Senators of Holly Springs. The Alamance Giants, managed by Bob Patterson, had led the league from the first day and looked to be unstoppable. Patterson and the Giants only lost two games all summer but the Senators were able to accomplish the feat twice in one day to sweep the championship series.

Mark Simpson pitched a complete game in the opening contest of the championship series. Simpson was able to spread nine hits over the nine innings with nine strikeouts and only two walks.  The Senators won 9-5. Dave Blaha of the Senators led offensively with four hits followed by John Mawyin with three. The Giants were led offensively by Jerry Russell who managed four base hits. Russell was followed by Pate with two base hits.

In game two Dave Blaha pitched eight strong innings against the slugging Giants who managed 14 base hits. Simpson was called upon to come back and pitch the ninth.  Jeff Moore led all hitters with four base hits followed by Dave Blaha and Wayne Garner, who managed three hits each.  The Giants offense was again led by Jerry Russell who had three hits. Other Giants with two hits each were Chrisco, Vuelta and Person. The Final score was 18-8, Senators.

Again, the CNCMSBL 50+ division was able to expand in 2018 when a sixth team was added. Former league president, Mac McDaniel, with help from Mike Faircloth, managed the expansion Cubs. The Cubs experienced some growing pains early in the summer but were playing much better towards the end of the season when they managed ties and wins against some upper tier teams, including the eventual champions. The Cubs are poised to make a strong showing in future seasons.

Other strong contending team in the CNCMSBL 50+ are the Raleigh Red Sox, managed by Mike Ludwick and Rob Woods; the Reds of Smithfield, managed by Robo Poole; and the Fayetteville Mets, managed by John Gerraffo.

Chime in with your opinion